Merging integration3 with sympy-0.7.0 nightmare

For a long time, there have been several problems in my integration3 branch that were fixed in master. I decided that as an incentive to finish the release, I would hold off on merging master into my branch until the 0.7.0 release was finished. Well, here’s a little timeline:

  • June 28, 2011: SymPy 0.7.0 final is released.
  • June 29, 2011: I type git merge sympy-0.7.0 in my integration3 branch.
  • July 24, 2011 (today; technically July 25 because it’s 2 AM): I finish merging sympy-0.7.0 into integration3.

That’s right, it took me over three weeks—almost a month—to merge sympy-0.7.0 into integration3 (granted, I worked on other things at the same time, such as the SciPy 2011 conference, but to me, any merge that takes longer than a day to complete is a problem). This is because git decided that I needed to fix as a merge conflict just about every single change in the release branch since the base of integration3. The total was over 100 files. You can see the final merge commit here.

So I started git mergetool, without which this whole ordeal would have been 10 times worse. The mergetool, which on my computer is opendiff, i.e., File Merge, gave the correct change by default in most cases, so I actually did not have to manually fix the majority of the conflicts. But I did have to go through and do a lot of them. I had to manually check each difference in the polys, as I had made several changes there in the course of working on integration3. In several occisaions, I had to research a change using git log -S and fancy methods. And I noticed at least two regressions in the polys, which I fixed.

mergetool was useless against risch.py and test_risch.py, because in my branch I had renamed these to heurisch.py and test_heurisch.py. Fortunately, these were not really modified much by me, so I could basically just replace them with the sympy-0.7.0 versions.

Once I finished merging I had to deal with test failures. This was partly expected, as my branch has always had test failures due to my hack disabling algebraic substitution in exp, which is required for risch_integrate() to work, but there were also several unrelated ones.

Some of these were caused by wrong merge conflict resolutions by me. So I went through git diff sympy-0.7.0 change by change and made sure that nothing was different that I didn’t want to be. I would recommend doing this for any big merge.

Then, I had to fix a few bugs that caused test failures. Several semantics were changed in the release. I think the ones that I had to change were the renaming of has_any_symbols to just has, the renaming of Poly.as_basic() to Poly.as_expr(), and the swapping of the meanings of quo and exquo in the polys. There were also some doctest failures due to the change to lexicographic ordering in the printer.

After all that, there were two regressions that caused test failures. The first was the following:

Before:

In [1]: Integral((exp(x*log(x))*log(x)), x).subs(exp(x*log(x)), x**x)
Out[1]: 
⌠             
⎮  x          
⎮ x ⋅log(x) dx
⌡             

After:

In [1]: Integral((exp(x*log(x))*log(x)), x).subs(exp(x*log(x)), x**x)
Out[1]: 
⌠                    
⎮  x⋅log(x)          
⎮ ℯ        ⋅log(x) dx
⌡                    

This substitution is necessary because the Risch algorithm requires expressions like x^x to be rewritten as e^{x\log(x)} before it can integrate them, but I try to convert them back after integrating so that the user gets the same thing in the result that he entered. I created issue 2571 for this.

The second was that I had several places in my docstrings with things like

Given a derivation D on k[t] and f, g in k(t) with f weakly normalized with respect to t, either raise NonElementaryIntegralException, in which case the equation Dy + f*y == g has no solution in k(t), or the quadruplet (a, b, c, h) such that a, h in k[t], b, c in k, and for any solution y in k(t) of Dy + f*y == g, q = y*h in k satisfies a*Dq + b*q == c.

The problem here is the “raise NonElementaryIntegralException,” part. The code quality checker things that this is an old style exception (like raise Exception, message), due to a poorly formed regular expression. I fixed this in a pull request.

The good news is that now a lot of stuff works that didn’t before because of fixes that were required that only existed in master. For example, the following did not work before, but now does due to improvements to RootSum:


In [1]: risch_integrate(1/(exp(5*x) + exp(x) + 1), x)
Out[1]: 
           ⎛    2                                                           
x + RootSum⎝21⋅z  + 6⋅z + 1, Lambda(_i, _i*log(-3381*_i**4/4 - 3381*_i**3/4 

                                       ⎞          ⎛     3        2          
- 625*_i**2/2 - 125*_i/2 + exp(x) - 5))⎠ + RootSum⎝161⋅z  + 115⋅z  + 19⋅z + 

                                                                            
1, Lambda(_i, _i*log(-3381*_i**4/4 - 3381*_i**3/4 - 625*_i**2/2 - 125*_i/2 +

             ⎞
 exp(x) - 5))⎠

In [2]: cancel(risch_integrate(1/(exp(5*x) + exp(x) + 1), x).diff(x))
Out[2]: 
      1      
─────────────
 5⋅x    x    
ℯ    + ℯ  + 1

The general definition of the logarithmic part of an integral is a sum over the roots of a polynomial, which must be expressed as a RootSum in the general case. Previously, RootSum.diff did not work, but thanks to Mateusz, an algorithm for computing exactly the RootSum where the Lambda expression is a rational function was implemented (see this bit from our SciPy tutorial for an idea on how this works), so now the Risch Algorithm can work with RootSum objects just as well with as an ordinary sum of logarithms.

Also, there was a bug in the square free algorithm in my branch that was fixed in master that was causing wrong results (I don’t remember the expression that produced them right now), and also there was a fix by me in master to make is_rational_function() faster, as it was significantly slowing down the calculation of some integrals (for example, risch_integrate(Add(*(exp(i*x) for i in range(1000)))), which is still slow to calculate, but now it’s because of other things).

About big branches

So this merge, along with the poly12 fiasco (which by the way, I think part of the reason git made me do all these merge conflict resolutions was because polys12 was rebased from the polys11 I had merged into integration3), has shown me very clearly that it is very bad to go off with your own branch and do a lot of work and wait a long time before merging it back into the main repo.

This is what was done with polys12. Mateusz had a lot of new polynomials code that he developed in one big branch, and when it finally came to merging it back in, it was a mess. This was for several reasons, which I do not want to discuss too much here, but it became clear to everyone I think that doing this was bad, and that it would have been better to have submitted many changes as pull requests as they were made than keeping them all together in one big branch for a long time.

This model also affected my work, as I had to work off of latest the polys branch, not master, as my work relied heavily on the latest and greatest in the polys.

Well, with this merge of the main repo into my branch, I see that my branch is starting to become the same way. I originally thought that I should finish the Risch algorithm before submitting it to be merged into master. I know know that this is the wrong approach. Development in master is too fast to keep code away from it for too long. The divergence makes it more and more difficult to merge back with every time. Furthermore, there are regressions that were never noticed to be regressions because the code that would have shown them existed only in my branch. Now I have to fix these, whereas if the code were in master, the regression would have never happened in the first place, because the author would have seen it immediately from the test failures.

I also thought that I should wait to merge because there were so many bugs in my code. But I see now that this is also wrong. Merging with master will help me find these bugs, as people will actually use my code. Sure, I’ve asked people to try out risch_integrate(), and some people have (and I thank you), but having it in the default integrate() in master will result in finding more bugs in the code than I ever would alone, which is basically the way it is right now with the code living only in my own branch.

I would prepare my code for merging with master today, if it weren’t for this exp.subs hack, which causes test failures and is technically a regression, but is required for the preparsing code to the Risch algorithm to work. This is why I wrote to the list two weeks ago asking for advice on how to structure the substitution code so that we can nicely have various kinds of substitutions (e.g., exact like I need and algebraic like currently exists in exp) living together without cluttering up the code.

Therefore, I am going to focus my energies on fixing this subs problem so I can get my code merged with master. Then, when this is done, I will continue my work on implementing the remaining cases of the Risch algorithm.

So let this tale be a warning to people working on a lot of code in a big branch. This especially applies to our GSoC students, as it’s extremely easy to let your code accumulate when you’re a GSoC student (technically this branch of mine is a GSoC branch). I see that some of our students are doing a better job of this than others. To those who have your code all in one big branch that hasn’t been merged, I recommend you ready your branch for merge now. And in the future, try to break your code up into small but still meaningful chunks and submit those as pull requests. With git, it’s easy to base the code you are currently working on on code that hasn’t been merged yet, while still keeping things in small chunks for the pull requests.

On the other hand, git will only take you so far if you keep everything in a big branch, because there are going to be changes in master that will affect your work, no matter how isolated you think it is, and these are the sorts of things that it is impossible for git to fix for you. But if your code is in master, it will be supported by everyone, and any major change that affects it will have to fix it. For example, if someone changes a printer and the doctests change, then he will have to change your doctest too if it’s in master, but if it’s in your branch, then you will have to fix it when you next merge/rebase with/against master.

3 Responses to Merging integration3 with sympy-0.7.0 nightmare

  1. Very interesting. Yes, just prepare a pull request for the whole thing, we will thoroughly tested, just like with the polys, and then just merge it in, and be done with it.

  2. VPeric says:

    Yes, I agree completely with you, small branches are just much better to work with. Anecdotally, I feel that ~20 commits is sort of an upper limit – anything more and it’s too hard/long to review and to keep rebasing. For example, I think if I had waited to submit all my work at once it would’ve taken weeks to get in. Of course, my project is a bit specific in that everything I do is self-contained but it’s always possible to split up your work somehow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

